Skip to content

Geocaching Goals for 2010/11

November 1, 2010
My first year as a geocacher is officially up. One year ago today I found my first cache, W for Walk on Over, and became completely addicted. Twelve months, and 574 caches, later I’m still addicted…this has to be a record for me.
Dunedin is an excellent place to take up geocaching. There is a huge number of caches for such a small city (some would say too many) and a great range – the right mix of small, urban traditionals, puzzles and larger bush caches to keep most caching preferences going for a long time. It also has a great community of cachers who are very welcoming and very willing to share their skills and experience.
When I started I didn’t have a lot of goals or objectives for the year. The only one I really set after a short time caching was to make it to 500 caches. Once that was achieved I started to ponder what else I could set my mind and GPSr to in geocaching. In looking forward to the next 12 months of geocaching my goals are:
  1. Make it to 1000 total finds: 425 to go. This may be a bigger ask that it initially seems. My 575 this year included 350+ local caches. Having to travel further afield to find the caches limits available caching time and a third Cumbyrocks Jnr arriving early in the year will add to the difficulty of this. When I look at the numbers I think I can do it and hopefully I won’t have to rely on too many binge trips to make it happen.
  2. Find all caches within 50km of home: Given I haven’t managed to do that for 10km this year this is another lofty goal. In saying that there are only 90 odd (presently) to find, so hopefully it is possible. I should have more opportunities to go after the more remote caches that take a few hours of walking to get.
  3. To achieve 65 difficulty/terrain combinations: Currently on 52. Yet to run a report and narrow down which caches will get me there so hopefully this is not setting the bar too high.
  4. To place 15 caches: Gotta keep that karma rating up! This would also take my total active placed caches to 30.
  5. To find a cache above 1000 metres: probably not a hard thing if I travel inland. Will re-evaluate if it turns out to be too easy.
  6. To run an event cache
  7. To run a CITO event
  8. To find 30 in one day: not a huge number to go after if it’s a solo effort. My current highest is 22 and that was with kids in tow. I set thirty because I think trying to find more would kill the enjoyment for me.

The numbers aren’t high…but then it’s not about the numbers is it?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. kjwx permalink
    November 1, 2010 9:36 pm

    Did the choice of your 1st cache have anything to do with our last name?

    • November 1, 2010 9:44 pm

      I’d like to say yes but that wouldn’t be true. It was actually the third cache I went for after failing to find Virtually a Traditional and ‘X’ for eXchange your loyalty.

Trackbacks

  1. The Meaning of CHUR « It's Not About The Numbers

Leave a Reply

