Skip to content

In light of the reviewerless Opencaching.com – An ode to the gc.com reviewers…

December 8, 2010

sseegars made the following comment on my post about the potential over-saturation problem with opencaching.com.  I thought it was so well done that I wanted to ensure everyone reading the blog got to see it: (for the full comment follow the link above)

Garmin NEEDS that human component in there if they are serious.

Film poster for A Few Good Men - Copyright 199...

Image via Wikipedia

Reminds me of the line in “A Few Good Men”.

“Garmin, we live in a world that has caches separated by a minimum of 0.1 miles , and those caches have to be guarded by men and women who volunteer. Who’s gonna do it? You? You, Mr. Cacher? They have a greater responsibility than you could possibly fathom. You weep for the micro under the bridge, and you curse the reviewers. You have that luxury. You have the luxury of not knowing what they know. That the micros denial of placement, while tragic, probably saved the bomb squad and the local government time and money. And the existence of those reviewers, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, saves geocaching. You don’t want the truth because deep down in places you don’t talk about at parties, you want them at that computer, you need them at that computer. They use words like saturation, guidelines, local laws. They use these words as the backbone of a decade watching out for geocaching. You use them as a punchline. They have neither the time nor the inclination to explain themselves to a cacher who rises and sleeps under the blanket of the very freedom to list caches in GC.com that $30 a year provides, and then questions the manner in which they provide it. I would rather you just said thank you, and went on your way, otherwise, I suggest you become a reviewer, and give up your time. Either way, I don’t give a damn what you think you are entitled to.”

Or something like that.

I love Garmin. I am a loyal Garminite! But they build the machine and do it damned well. I ALWAYS know where I am. I think that this might be a major failure without that human component.

Leave a comment