Skip to content

Okay, who narked to opencaching?

December 9, 2010

I blogged yesterday about the potential for over-saturation of caches to occur in opencaching as no reviewer meant I was able to publish two caches with the same coordinates. Now either someone has dobbed me into opencaching.com or Garmin are avid readers of It’s Not About The Numbers as both have been pushed back to draft stage. At this point I prefer to think the later, though I have my suspects for the former.

I don’t care that they were pushed back to drafts. However, I am a little bugged that there is no note or log telling me why. That’s another example of why we need reviewers – they tend to communicate about these problems and let you know about them so you can fix what you did wrong. Ultimately I should never have been able to publish two in the same place to start with!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2010 9:41 pm

    They are on to you, you’d better behave…. 🙂

    Given they more than likely wont be able to access GC’s cache data at some point then I wonder how they will manage this if/when they lose the cache feed. (Can YOU see GC letting them use ‘their’ cache data on a rival site, I can’t….) ….

    That said, we give prox warnings at GCA but leave the final decision with the user, if they want to do something lame like place a cache 20m from another one on another site, then we let karma decide if that was a good decision or not 🙂 Arm the user with knowledge, but let them make the decision.

    • December 9, 2010 9:54 pm

      But behaving is no fun! 😛

      GSV made a point on my over-saturation post yesterday that at gc.com you own your cache listing so can cross-list as much as you want. It will be interesting to see if Groundspeak make any moves to stop this. I can see the outcry if they did!

    • Bursche permalink
      December 10, 2010 1:40 am

      Will the gc.com-reviewers check other Listing-plattforms to see, if there was another cache within 161 meters?
      No they don´t!
      I once placed a cache. It was listed on gc.com and on oc.de. After a while I decided to archiv it on gc.com and keep it as an oc-only. Now there is a gc-com-mysterie-final-micro 3m next to my Ammbox. Day before yesterday I published the same cache on oc.com. Maybe the mysterie-owner will publish his mysterie one day on oc.com too….. At the same locatoin you can find a micro, placed by a local youth-club, not listed on any plattform…
      Nobody gets hurt, when there are two boxes in one place!

      BTW: A lot of caches caused issuse with local authorities incl. bomb-squad, all of them were reviewed by gc.com reviewers….. especialy in germany gc.com-Reviewers made a real bad job. All they achieved ist, nobody can log NA or even NM whithout beeing blamed a killjoy. On the other hand they meet there cacher-friends and publish this private meetings afterwards as an event. I´m glad there will be more and more competition, so Cachers have a choice where to play. I guesss the main reason why oc.com is so pupuar in germany, even before the start, is that cachers are fed up to the back teeth!

  2. December 10, 2010 2:33 am

    They are definitely watching your blog. Just look in your stats and you’ll see all the visits from Garmin.

    @CraigRat, I’m surprised they haven’t used the data yet. They have access to the Groundspeak data. I wonder if they are waiting for users to upload the data and then match it. As GPSfix pointed out they are matching up existing logs with uploaded caches.

  3. December 10, 2010 2:40 am

    @CrumblyRocks I’ve been told by Groundspeak management that they will NOT stop it. That might change but for right now their position is that cachers own their data.

  4. December 10, 2010 9:27 am

    PLEASE…be specific when referencing Garmin’s new geocaching site. I know it was THEM who chose to go with an pre-existing name, but I’d hate for the REAL OpenCaching community to get a bad rap from people who forget to add “.com” to Garmin’s site name or just call them OCCOM.

    At OpenCaching.US (OCUS), we DO check for nearby cache at GC.com, TerraCaching, Navicache and GPSGames, when reviewing cache submissions.

    And while we allow crosslistings (with links to the cache on GC, TC, NC, or GPS), we greatly prefer exclusive listings. OCCOM seems to be overwhelmingly aimed at having people just upload their GC.com (primarily) caches to OCCOM, then boast about how many caches they have.

  5. SSeegars permalink
    December 13, 2010 1:56 am

    Alright, where ya at? Time to out on your tinfoil hat, keep a look out for black helicopters and blog! I enjoy your articles!

    • December 14, 2010 6:47 am

      Thanks Sseegars. The impending arrival of a third Cumbyrocks clone…ah, baby…has me blogging sporadically at moment. However, I am never short of an opinion so the next post is always just around the corner!

Trackbacks

  1. TAG :: Toronto Area Geocachers » Opencaching.com and Reviewers

Leave a comment